PDA

View Full Version : Upgrading to a mac mini from an Powermac G4/466

Crispychris
03-17-2005, 03:42 AM
My old G4/466 is feeling its age. I do a lot of video editing and DVD encoding. Takes forever to encode...set it running and wait a day or so!!
So.. will a Mac mini G4 1.25Ghz give me a good speed bump for little cash?
I will also have to fork out for a few USB hard drive caddys , a good USB2 hub, 1Gb of memory and a DVI/ADC converter. By my reckoning is that will set me back about 600. what do you think? :)

mclbruce
03-17-2005, 04:46 AM
Offhand I'd say you might do better with a used dual processor machine. I'm no expert though...

JakeR
03-17-2005, 05:39 AM
My brother recently moved from a PC to a Mac mini. I set it up for him, and its performance is significantly better than my G4/450.

That said, I agree that you could do significantly better with a used dual G4 from eBay. And if you do, I strongly recommend getting a USB 2.0 PCI card instead of a hub -- they're cheaper, and they take less desk space too. :-)

I assume that the 600 is supposed to cover the Mini as well as the add-ons, right? [URL=http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&category=51035&item=5759601936&rd=1]Here's a good alternative.[/URL

A little pricier, but should be a very strong performer by comparison. A search for "dual G4" on eBay reveals lots of alternatives.

-Jake

Photek
03-17-2005, 06:24 AM
If it were me........ I wouldn't buy a second hand dual g4 off ebay because they always go for a really high price, if you can get one cheap GREAT! But a mini is a quick little machine, its no Dual 2.5 G5....... but I produce around 32 magazines a year on a 1.42mhz mini with 512 ram and it runs, photoshop, indesign, acrobat pro, font agent, excel, mail and safari, all the time with no hitches.

voldenuit
03-17-2005, 08:56 AM
Obviously, for what you're doing, a dual G5 is the machine of choice if budget permits.