View Full Version : Grrr...eBay Scam?

02-17-2005, 01:01 PM
Does this look like a scammed email to you? The biggest giveaway for me is that the sign in url for your supposed eBay account is this:


Which isn't the usual ebay.com sign in, right?

You have received this email because we have strong reason to believe that your eBay account had been recently compromised. In order to prevent any fraudulent activity from occurring we are required to open an investigation into this matter. To speed up this process, you are required to verify your eBay account by following the link below.


To complete the verification process you must fill in all the required fields)

Please Note: If your account informations are not updated within the next 72 hours, then we will assume this account is fraudulent and will be suspended. We apologize for this inconvenience, but the purpose of this verification is to ensure that your eBay account has not been fraudulently used and to combat fraud.

We appreciate your support and understanding, as we work together to keep eBay a safe place to trade.

Thank you for your attention on this serious matter. We apologize for any delay in resolving this situation.


Morris Franklin
eBay SafeHarbor
Investigations Team

02-17-2005, 01:06 PM
The only real way to tell if it's a scam email is to look at the email's headers and see where it came from. If it didn't come from an eBay email server, then it's a scam.

But since this URL you are handed is obviously not going to a www.ebay.com site, then it's definitely a phishing scam.

02-17-2005, 01:11 PM
SCAM! SCAM! SCAM! (the domain name belongs to an outfit in Hong Kong)

Never trust even the most legitimate-looking emails. If you are worried, visit eBay, your bank, etc. using your own hand-typed URL or bookmark (not the one in the email) and log in. A legitimate business will give you some alert at login or some way of contacting customer service if there really is a problem. You can also often find a scam-reporting email address that you can forward a suspicious email to.

02-17-2005, 01:33 PM
this is most definately a phishing expedition. For confirmation just wait 72 hours. If your ebay account is suspended then you know it was real (it won't be suspended trust me). Additionally I would use the rule that if you recive an email requestion your account information be skeptical, especially since ebay already has your account information and wouldn't need to ask you for it. If you think you get a real message like this just go to the real ebay site (or wherever) from your browser and send them a Customer service inquiry and they will confirm that something is up. Does nobody in this world find it suspicious that these emails say "your account" and such, but never give the slightest idea that they know what your account actually is?

02-17-2005, 02:16 PM
Forward the mail to spoof@paypal.com.

02-17-2005, 02:26 PM
Forward the mail to spoof@paypal.com.

Heh.. it's not a paypal scam.

eBay has a web submission site now:


02-17-2005, 04:32 PM
Great. Thanks guys.

02-19-2005, 12:20 AM
Forward the mail to spoof@paypal.com.Heh.. it's not a paypal scam.

eBay has a web submission site now:

http://pages.ebay.com/securitycenter/?ssPageName=home:f:f:USPayPal is now owned by eBay. They are the same entity. eBay does have their own reporting address though. Forward the suspicious email to spoof@ebay.com.