PDA

View Full Version : Remote login and file sharing OS X

Oilbert
01-15-2005, 05:42 AM
I studied all threads now and I am still not sure how to proceed with my problem.

I have a eMac in my office. It is connected to Airport Extreme via Ethernet, the Airport is connected to the Internet via DSL. (This is all in Germany, if that's relevant).
My PowerBook (G4 15') works with the files on the eMac via Airport while I am in the office.
What do I do to connect to the eMac from outside?
I don't want to dial into the Airport Extreme but go in via the internet so I can transfer files etc.
- It should be fast
- It should be secure.

I already have a DynDNS.org account and DNS Update installed on my eMAC.

What else do I need to do?

I'd even be happy to buy expensive stuff like Remote Desktop etc if I can be sure how to configure it that it would serve my purpose.

!!!->Assume no knowledge on my part about ftp, ssh, port forwarding etc.

Anyone out there who can help or point me to the right information?
Step by step and easy does it.
THANKS!

trevor
01-15-2005, 10:02 AM
1. Is a command-line connection adequate? Or do you need full GUI control? Or do you just need to transfer files back and forth?
2. Do you have administrative rights to the Airport Extreme Basestation in your office?

Trevor

Oilbert
01-15-2005, 10:14 AM
No, I would like to avoid command line stuff and have a normal Finder-like approach or any application where I can shift folders and files back and forth between the office eMac and my PowerBook. - - - once I can get the connection going.

Yes I do have admin rights to the Airport Extreme Basestation

BTW I just used Network Utility to ping my dyndns domain and it worked. Whatever that means :)

aixccapt99
01-15-2005, 11:12 AM
Two suggestions: