PDA

View Full Version : Open files by pressing Return/enter

stephenpen543
12-05-2004, 04:04 PM
I have just recently changed from Windows - Mac, and on windows, I could open applications with the return key, but on mac you havve to press Option-O. Is there any why I can change it to the return key? I'm not very good at mac at the moment - so can you give step by step instructions. Thanks in advance

hayne
12-05-2004, 04:14 PM
on mac you have to press Option-O.
I think you meant Command-O

Is there any why I can change it to the return key?
No - the return key takes you into filename-editing mode as you no doubt have seen.

CAlvarez
12-05-2004, 11:50 PM
I didn't know CMD-O was a partial solution to this annoyance.

hayne
12-06-2004, 12:08 AM
I didn't know CMD-O was a partial solution to this annoyance.
Have a look on the right side of the "Open File" menu item and you will see the keyboard shortcut.

CAlvarez
12-06-2004, 12:52 AM
Yeah, it just never occurred to me to use the "Open" command on a program. It seems illogical that a rarely-used thing like rename gets the enter key, and something you do 100 times/day gets a two-handed key combo.

styrafome
12-06-2004, 01:03 AM
I agree, even though I am staunchly in favor of the Mac, I do prefer how Windows lets you use Backspace and Return in file windows.

However, the Mac gives you other keyboard shortcuts. Command-Up Arrow or Command-Down Arrow navigate the Finder windows. Cmd-Up goes up a level, and Cmd-Down opens whatever's selected.

So Cmd-Down is an alternative to Cmd-O. Cmd-Down is good to have when doing a lot of arrow key navigation in the Finder.

hayne
12-06-2004, 05:57 AM
It seems illogical that a rarely-used thing like rename gets the enter key, and something you do 100 times/day gets a two-handed key combo.