PDA

View Full Version : Sony Clie and OS X

tlarkin
06-08-2004, 09:46 AM
Hello all,

I am not a big user of PDA's. Infact my old Palm III barely got used now it collects dust. I have a client that has a G4 MDD running OS X 10.2. She also has a sony Clie' PEG-J35. I know isync will not work with this PDA so you have to use some third party software called, The Missing Sync, made by mark space. The mark space software requires that the Palm Desktop be downloaded and installed on the existing system for it to work. So I downloaded the Palm desktop, then installed The missing sync software. The clie' says its connected but I can't see any sign of it being connected on the mac.

Has anyone dealt with this software before? What known issues are there? This is my first time trying to get a clie to work with a mac, so I am pretty much just reading through all the readme files, and manuals. Any help would be appreciated.

Thanks in advance,
Tom

metropical
06-08-2004, 09:51 AM
I have a NX70, about 2 year old vintage.
Palm Desktop 4.1 for X.
I'm not using iSync and it syncs fine.
If you're not using Macs apps, I think you'll find no need for Missing sync.

mines a G3 beige running Panther with PCI USB and FW added.

If this doesn't help, try

cliesource.com/forums/

tlarkin
06-08-2004, 10:00 AM
Thanks for the response.

If its set up correctly should the memory stick not mount as a removeable drive on the desktop?

metropical
06-08-2004, 10:18 AM
In theory, that is true, with Missing Sync. But I've never tried it.
I use a USB ready/writer to drag and drop what can't be installed from the Palm Desktop HotSync Manager.

tlarkin
06-08-2004, 10:35 AM
Okay,