PDA

View Full Version : Tales from a *NIX user

v_thunder
04-05-2002, 04:56 PM
Hi all,

First a little background on myself:

I've been a UNIX (mostly Linux) user for the past 6 years or so, and I've been a big fan of it for some time. I studied computer science, and work with UNIX computers all day, doing desktop software related development. Shortly after the release of the iPod I purchased an apple Cube (from eBay), which is now running OS X.

To summarize my OS X experiences, I'd say that they shift wildly from being incredibly positive to being rather dissapoing sometimes. It seems rather odd to me, that features I care deeply about seem to be non-issues to (apparently) everyone else.

So I turn to you :) I don't hope to find solutions to my current gripes, but merely to find out what others think about them, and possibly influence a few into my way of thinking ;) I'll concentrate on the dissapointments here, but please understand that I really do like the system in general, regardless of things like these.

So, on to my #1 all-time biggest problem with the current system: OS X packages suck. I am used the system doing things like:

* Keeping track of what is installed.
* Keeping track of what needs to be updated, removed, etc. Housekeeping.
* Telling me what I can remove without breaking anything else.
* Telling me what extra software pieces I need to install a certain program.
* Having the system automatically grab those extra pieces without my help.
* Telling me when installing a certain program will break something else--preventing me from doing that.
* Having the system (and not me directly) modify the contents of "sensitive" directories, like /Applications for example.
* Other related miscellaneous automated processes.