PDA

View Full Version : Above my head

easydoesit
02-12-2004, 01:02 PM
You guys are way past me. I'm just a lonely designer that is trying to get work out of my mac. You are the ones that have to deal with my jobs once they come out. So what's the verdict? Should I stick with Quark 4.1 or learn InDesign?

Obviously there is a debate about the inferiority of both to some degree.

schneb
02-12-2004, 02:05 PM
I'll try to stay above the belt and below the shoulders with my reply. ;)

You have stated...

"I do print design for a number of clients. End products are newsletters, brochures and other collateral pieces. I give a disk to a printer and they print it. All my work is 4-color."

For your work, I would recommend keeping your G5 and learning inDesign and Acrobat. Quark has shown very little concern for the quality of their application. Adobe shows great concern for quality of their product and all of their products strive to work together.

With these two applications I would gather that you also have Photoshop. InDesign and Photoshop act as one product--another plus.

So the output to your printing house could very well be CMYK TIFF and a PDF file. Hence, no font problems and no need to put up with Quark.

These applications work flawlessly in OSX.

The above are all in my humble opinion, of course.

B&C Printing
02-12-2004, 03:48 PM
Originally posted by easydoesit
You guys are way past me. I'm just a lonely designer that is trying to get work out of my mac. You are the ones that have to deal with my jobs once they come out. So what's the verdict? Should I stick with Quark 4.1 or learn InDesign?