PDA

View Full Version : Problem with OpenTerminalHere

ChemMJW
10-25-2010, 09:58 AM
Hello all,

For my Mac with OS X 10.6.4, I have downloaded and installed Marc Liyanage's OpenTerminalHere app.

However, when I click on the icon in a Finder window to open a terminal directly in that directory, it doesn't work properly. No matter what directory I try to open the terminal in from the Finder, I get the following message in the terminal that pops open:

cd '/Volumes/CHEMMJW/' && echo $'\ec'
[antares:~] matthew% cd '/Volumes/CHEMMJW/' && echo $'\ec'
Illegal variable name.

I am not a Mac expert and have no idea what the problem is. Another member of my lab installed this app on his Mac using exactly the same procedure that I did, and it worked perfectly from the very first moment.

Any advice would be appreciated. Thanks.

hayne
10-25-2010, 01:02 PM
Have you changed anything in your shell configuration? (the "dot" files)
Are you using 'bash' ? (this is the default shell, but it's possible to change it in Terminal preferences or elsewhere)

tw
10-25-2010, 01:31 PM
However, when I click on the icon in a Finder window to open a terminal directly in that directory, it doesn't work properly. No matter what directory I try to open the terminal in from the Finder, I get the following message in the terminal that pops open:

cd '/Volumes/CHEMMJW/' && echo $'\ec'
[antares:~] matthew% cd '/Volumes/CHEMMJW/' && echo $'\ec'
Illegal variable name.