PDA

View Full Version : Run a script whenever an application opens

almostHandsome
05-19-2010, 04:56 PM
Sorry for the stupid question, but I'm new to applescript.

How do you write a script that will run whenever an application is opened?

I want to open a specific file whenever one of certain applications are opened. It would be a different file for each specific application.

What I really want is a way to keep an editable file containing a few notes for every application I use. This is to remind me of new things I've learned about that app, any problems I've found a solution to, and anything I want to remember to do when I open the app, such as send a msg to Helmut, check for homophones, remember that it's set for IPA now, purge past events.

NaOH
05-19-2010, 05:33 PM
You could simply use the System Preferences pane Do Something When (http://www.azarhi.com/Projects/DSW/index.php), along with a script like this:

tell application "AppName"
open file "Path:To:File"
end tell

Change this script as necessary to meet your needs (by setting the application name and the path to the desired file), and store the script wherever you'd like. Note, too, that the files which will be opened with these scripts can't be moved.

Do Something When allows you to run a script when an application launches. So, if you always want to open a certain file for each application, creating the scripts you want like this should work. Then, just go to System Preferences->DSW and set it to run the script you want for each application.

regulus6633
05-20-2010, 04:14 AM